Retail

October 14, 2013 § Leave a comment

Your fat hand

crumbles

the layer cake

of shirts

I baked

with buttery hours

of lost time

 

Your wet eyes

stare

at me

invisible

as you pop

my speech bubble

with a darling

handbag

 

I hold your hair back

while you get sick

all over my cash register,

then swish away

in a breeze

of shiny new things

 

leaving me here

to wonder

what is the price

of selling

an empty hanger

to a woman

who inserts it

into her shoulder blades

and hangs herself up

stuck

a dead weight

twirling,

 

slowly becoming a fur coat.

Image

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retail at Quick Flash Flash.

meta

